Committee Members

Full List of Members

Join the SBLPA


Current Leadership


Douglas Inglis Newton Mearns Douglas Inglis (President) Douglas has a passion for preaching, and seeks to communicate the ancient truths of the Bible in a way that is relevant to contemporary culture.  He particularly welcomes the opportunity to address leadership conferences, anniversary weekends and evangelistic events. Douglas found faith as a teenager at Carluke Baptist Church, was baptised there and began to learn how to serve through the work of Christian Endeavour. In 1968, he married Norma, setting up home initially in Giffnock and later in Newton Mearns, on the south side of Glasgow.  Douglas served Queens Park Baptist Church as youth fellowship leader, deacon and as part of the preaching team. In the early 80s they helped to plant the new church at Newton Mearns, Douglas serving as Chair of the Steering Committee, before working in the church as an Elder and as part of the preaching team.

Glen Cartwright

Glen Cartwright (General Secretary) Email: General Secretary Glen has been General Secretary since 2007 and his role includes managing the administration of the Association, strategy development and representational responsibilities to the Council of the Baptist Union of Scotland and the Scottish Baptist College Committee. Brought up in Carluke Baptist Church, in later years Glen became a member of Whitley Bay Baptist Church, Ayr Baptist Church, Southside Christian Fellowship and, since 2007, has been a member of Newton Mearns Baptist Church. A former member of the Baptist Union of Scotland Youth Committee, Glen holds qualifications in Old & New Testament Studies from Capernwray Bible School and in Preaching & Communication from the Scottish Baptist College. Married to Adrienne and dad to Lewis, Glen spent his toddler years in New Prestwick Baptist Church where a former General Secretary (George Kerr 1964-1972) used to give him a sweetie every Sunday!

Mark Donaldson

Mark Donaldson (Treasurer) Email: Treasurer

Copyright © 2006 - 2018 SBLPA All Rights Reserved Scottish Baptist Lay Preachers Association